Best Countertop Reverse Osmosis Systems for Renters

Best Picks
Hands pouring filtered water from a glass jug into a stemmed glass on a wooden kitchen counter

The best countertop reverse osmosis system for most renters is the AquaTru Classic. It needs no plumbing, and it is certified by IAPMO to NSF/ANSI 42, 53, 58 and 401, covering what AquaTru counts as 84 contaminants. That is the widest certification on any unit we checked. APEC's ROCT-PLUS needs one filter a year instead of three, makes about twice as much water per fill and dispenses it hot, but APEC states no certification for it. APEC's ROCT-C1 also uses a single yearly filter and chills the water. Any of them fixes the water you drink. None does anything about the scale on your shower.

Disclosure: Hard Water Solved may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It does not change which products we include or how we rank them. Read our disclaimer.

How We Chose: Certification Scope, Refills and Filter Changes

Method. Each unit was compared on what its certification covers and who issued it, how many times a day a household has to fill it, and how many filters it needs and how often. Evidence comes from product pages, filter pages, certification listings and manuals. Nothing was physically tested.

Included: plug-in countertop RO units sold on Amazon.com, currently sold by the maker.

Excluded: pitcher filters and other non-RO jugs; the Waterdrop K19-S and N1, which Waterdrop's own store lists as discontinued; the Waterdrop K19-SFK and AquaTru Classic Alkaline, whose Amazon listings showed "Currently unavailable" on 1 October 2026; and any unit whose only certification is NSF/ANSI 372.

Prices are not listed here because they change often. Use the buttons to see the current price on Amazon.

Who should buy none: renters whose landlord will allow an under-sink unit, households drinking more than about 3 gallons a day, and anyone whose real complaint is scale on fixtures. Those cases are covered at the end.

Best Countertop Reverse Osmosis Systems Compared

AquaTru ClassicAPEC ROCT-PLUSAPEC ROCT-C1
AmazonCheck price on AmazonCheck price on AmazonCheck price on Amazon
Water per fillabout 0.5 gal clean-water tank5 L (about 1.3 gal) tap-water tank, about 1 gal treated at 3:1Tank size not published by APEC; 27 oz chilled reservoir
Certification foundIAPMO: NSF/ANSI 42, 53, 58, 401None stated by APECReplacement filter listed by APEC as "NSF 372 & 58"; certifier not named
FiltersPre/carbon 6 months, RO 2 years, VOC carbon 1 yearOne 3-in-1 cartridge, about 12 months, 1,056 gal ratedOne 3-in-1 cartridge, every 12 months
Filters to buy a yeartwo pre/carbon, one VOC, and an RO filter every other yearone cartridgeone cartridge
ExtrasNoneUV stage; instant hot water up to 203°FUV stage; chilled water at 40°F
Warranty stated1 yearNot stated on the product pageNot stated on the product page
Size12 × 14 × 14 in, about 17 lb7⅞ × 14¼ × 15⅝ in, 15 lb shipping weight18.1 × 8.3 × 15.8 in

Filter counts follow the makers' time-based schedules. Heavy use can bring a change forward if a gallon limit is reached first.

What the Certification Covers, and Who Issued It

The word "certified" on a countertop RO box can mean three quite different things. This is what we found for each unit:

UnitWho certified itStandardsWhat the listing covers
AquaTru ClassicIAPMO R&TNSF/ANSI 42, 53, 58, 401AquaTru counts 84 contaminants. The certified claims include lead, fluoride, PFOA/PFOS and microplastics. A directory check found chlorine marketed but not among the certified claims
APEC ROCT-C1Not namedAPEC's store titles the replacement filter "NSF 372 & 58 Certified"We could not find which body certified it or which contaminant claims are listed
APEC ROCT-PLUSNone statedNone on APEC's product page or the Amazon listingAPEC lists more than 50 contaminants it says the unit removes. None is tied to a certification
Waterdrop K19-H (not ranked)—Listing title claims NSF/ANSI 372 onlyLead content of the parts. Says nothing about what the unit removes

Read them like this. NSF/ANSI 58 is the reverse osmosis standard. It covers TDS reduction and any contaminants listed one by one. 42 and 53 cover the carbon stages, for taste and odour and for health contaminants respectively. 401 covers emerging contaminants such as some pharmaceuticals. 372 is a materials standard for lead content and nothing more.

Certification belongs to a model, so look up the exact model. NSF, IAPMO and WQA each publish searchable listings. Treat a claim you cannot find on any of them as a marketing claim.

How Often You Will Refill It

Countertop RO is manual. You fill a tap-water tank at the sink, and the unit turns it into treated water. How much treated water one fill makes sets how often you do this:

Bar chart of daily refills for the AquaTru Classic and APEC ROCT-PLUS countertop reverse osmosis systems at half, one and two gallons of daily drinking and cooking water
A family of four refills an AquaTru four times a day; the ROCT-PLUS's bigger tank halves that

The daily volumes are illustrative. Count the water your household drinks, plus coffee, tea, rice and pasta, and any pet bowls you fill from it. A family that cooks with RO water reaches 2 gallons a day quickly. At four fills a day, the AquaTru is still workable, but it becomes a chore. The ROCT-PLUS's 5-liter tank is its strongest practical advantage. The ROCT-C1 is not charted, because APEC does not publish its tank size.

Filter Changes at Your Household's Volume

Filters run out on the calendar, on a gallon limit, or both, so how much water you use decides which limit you hit:

UnitFilters and scheduleWhat to know
AquaTru ClassicPre/carbon filter every 6 months, RO filter up to every 2 years, VOC filter every yearThree filters on three schedules; heavy use can bring a change forward if a gallon limit is reached first
APEC ROCT-PLUSOne 3-in-1 cartridge (FI-CT-PLUS) about every 12 monthsRated for 1,056 gallons, so 2 gallons a day stays inside it
APEC ROCT-C1One 3-in-1 cartridge (FI-ROCTC1) every 12 monthsAPEC does not publish a gallon rating for this cartridge

Light users pay the most per gallon, because filters expire on the calendar whether or not they were used. A single person drinking half a gallon a day still replaces every filter on schedule. Keep that in mind when you compare the running cost with bottled water at your local store.

1. AquaTru Classic: Best-Documented Certification

Check price on Amazon

AquaTru's Classic product page describes a 4-stage unit. A pre-filter and carbon filter feed the RO membrane, followed by a VOC carbon filter. It has a 0.66-gallon tap-water tank and a 0.5-gallon clean-water tank. It runs on a standard 120 V outlet, measures 12 × 14 × 14 inches, weighs about 17 lb and carries a 1-year guarantee. Filters are rated at 6 months for the pre/carbon filter, up to 2 years for the RO filter and 1 year for the VOC filter.

Certification. It is certified by IAPMO to NSF standards for 84 contaminants, by AquaTru's count. A third-party directory check found listings under NSF/ANSI 42, 53, 58 and 401, with lead, fluoride, PFOA/PFOS and microplastics among the certified claims. No other unit here comes close on documentation.

On hard water. A directory summary of AquaTru's manual says the Classic is not intended for hardness above about 10 gpg without pre-softening, and requires microbiologically safe water. AquaTru also sells a descaling kit for units in hard-water areas. If your tap water is very hard, plan on descaling, and expect the membrane to need replacing on its performance rather than its date.

What it skimps on. Tank size. Half a gallon of clean water means frequent refills for a family.

Buy it if you want the broadest certification you can verify and you live alone or as a couple.

2. APEC ROCT-PLUS: Most Water per Fill, Instant Hot

Check price on Amazon

APEC's ROCT-PLUS page describes a plug-in unit with a 5-liter tap-water tank and one composite 3-in-1 cartridge: a sediment pre-filter, an RO membrane and a post-carbon stage. A UV stage follows. APEC rates the cartridge at about 12 months and 1,056 gallons. The ratio is 3:1, so a full tank makes about 1 gallon of treated water. It dispenses at room temperature or heats the water instantly, up to 203°F, from four presets, and it has a child lock. It measures 7⅞ × 14¼ × 15⅝ inches and runs on a 120 V outlet.

Feed limits. APEC limits it to city water under 500 ppm TDS, between 5 and 38°C (41 to 100°F).

Certification. None is stated on APEC's product page or on the Amazon listing. APEC lists more than 50 contaminants it says the unit removes, from lead and arsenic to PFAS. No certification listing backs those claims.

What it skimps on. Paperwork, and the warranty term, which the product page does not state. There is no mineral stage.

Buy it if you are a couple or a family who want fewer refills, a single yearly filter and hot water for tea or formula from the same unit, and your reason for RO is taste and TDS rather than one named contaminant.

3. APEC ROCT-C1: Chilled Water, One Filter a Year

Check price on Amazon

APEC's ROCT-C1 page describes a countertop RO unit with a built-in refrigerator-style compressor that keeps a 27 oz reservoir at 40°F. It comes with a removable water pitcher. Filtration is one 3-in-1 cartridge (pre-filter, RO membrane and post-carbon) followed by UV. APEC calls the design 5-stage on its own page and 4-stage on Amazon. The cartridge is replaced every 12 months. APEC gives a 3:1 ratio, a 75 GPD rating, municipal tap water as the source, a feed temperature of 41 to 100°F, and a size of 18.1 × 8.3 × 15.8 inches.

Certification. APEC's store titles the replacement cartridge "NSF 372 & 58 Certified", but names no certifying body. We could not confirm which claims a listing covers.

What it skimps on. Published detail. APEC does not give the tap-water tank size or a gallon rating for the cartridge, so its refill rate cannot be worked out from APEC's own figures. The warranty term is not on the product page.

Buy it if cold water is what gets your household drinking from the tap, and you want a once-a-year, single-cartridge filter change.

What Countertop RO Fixes, and What It Does Not

A countertop unit treats the water you pour from it. That is a real fix for some hard-water complaints and no fix at all for others.

It fixes:

  • Hardness, sodium and most dissolved solids in drinking and cooking water
  • Scale in the kettle, coffee maker and steam iron, if you fill them from the RO tank
  • Taste and odour from chlorine, through the carbon stages

It does not fix:

  • Scale on faucets, showerheads and glass doors
  • Scale in the water heater and dishwasher
  • Dry skin or soap scum in the shower
  • Anything in the water before you pour it, such as the hot water from your tap

Those are whole-house problems, and in a rental the answer runs through the landlord. Water softeners in rental properties covers who pays, who maintains it, and what a lease usually allows. If you rent or own in a condo, water softener options for condos and apartments explains why building plumbing decides what is possible.

Who Should Buy None of These

  • Renters whose landlord allows an under-sink unit. A plumbed RO unit makes water on demand with no refilling and no counter space.
  • Households using more than about 3 gallons a day. Refilling becomes the main chore of the kitchen.
  • Anyone whose real complaint is scale on fixtures or the water heater. That calls for a softener. If you own the place later, how to size a water softener starts from your hardness and water use.
  • Untreated well water or a boil-water notice. AquaTru's limits call for microbiologically safe feed water. RO is not a disinfection system.
  • Anyone with no counter space near an outlet. The AquaTru alone takes a 12 × 14 inch footprint.

For a renter with hard tap water, a countertop RO unit is the most complete drinking-water fix that needs no permission. Pick the AquaTru Classic if certification matters most. Pick the APEC ROCT-PLUS if refills and filter upkeep matter more, or the ROCT-C1 if you want the water cold.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does a countertop reverse osmosis system need plumbing?

No. You fill a tank by hand from the tap, plug the unit into a standard outlet, and it pushes the water through its filters and membrane into a clean-water tank, a carafe or straight into your cup. There is no drilling, no drain saddle and no feed line, which is why it suits renters. The unit leaves with you when you move.

Will a countertop RO system fix hard water in an apartment?

Only for the water you pour from it. It removes hardness from drinking and cooking water, so a kettle or coffee maker filled from it stops scaling. It does nothing for the shower, the water heater, the dishwasher or the faucets. Those need a softener, which in a rental is usually the landlord's decision.

Are countertop reverse osmosis systems certified?

Some are, and the scope varies. AquaTru's Classic is certified by IAPMO to NSF/ANSI 42, 53, 58 and 401, covering 84 contaminants by AquaTru's count. APEC's store lists the ROCT-C1's replacement filter as NSF 372 and 58 certified, but we could not confirm the certifying body or its claim list, and APEC states no certification for the ROCT-PLUS. Some countertop units carry only NSF/ANSI 372, which covers lead content in the parts, not what the unit removes.

How often do you refill a countertop RO unit?

It depends on tank size and how much you drink. AquaTru's Classic holds about half a gallon of clean water, so a family drinking and cooking with 2 gallons a day refills it about four times. APEC's ROCT-PLUS has a 5-liter tap-water tank that makes about 1 gallon of treated water per fill at its 3:1 ratio, so the same family fills it about twice a day.

How much do countertop RO filters cost?

It depends on how many filters a unit uses and how often they are changed. The AquaTru Classic uses three: a pre/carbon filter every 6 months, an RO filter up to every 2 years and a VOC filter every year. Either APEC unit, the ROCT-PLUS or the ROCT-C1, uses one combined cartridge changed about every 12 months. Filters expire on the calendar, so light users pay the most per gallon. Prices change often, so check the current filter price before buying the unit.

Does a countertop RO system work with very hard water?

It works, but it scales up faster. As summarized from its manual by a third-party directory, AquaTru's Classic is not meant for hardness above about 10 grains per gallon without pre-softening. AquaTru also sells a descaling kit for units used in hard-water areas. APEC limits the ROCT-PLUS to city water under 500 ppm TDS. Expect to descale more often, and to replace the membrane on its performance rather than its date.

Irfan Nasim

About Irfan Nasim

Irfan Nasim writes and edits Hard Water Solved. He is not a certified water-treatment professional — he researches each topic against primary sources like the EPA, CDC, NSF, and USGS before writing it up, so the site stays grounded in evidence rather than sales claims.