AFWFilters vs DuraWater: Same Fleck Valve, Different Box

AFWFilters vs DuraWater is a choice between two sellers, not two softeners. For the 48,000-grain system with 10% crosslink resin, both ship a Pentair Fleck 5600SXT metered valve, 1.5 cubic feet of resin and a 10 x 54 inch mineral tank. What differs is the brine tank, the bypass options, and above all what each seller tells you in writing. AFWFilters publishes its prices, install guides, a parts store, warranty terms and a 120-day return policy on its own site. DuraWater's website gives specifications and a phone number, but no prices and no warranty terms. On that basis, AFWFilters is the easier one to buy from. Both sites also name some of the same Amazon listings, which changes how you should compare prices.
Disclosure: Hard Water Solved may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It does not change which products we include or how we rank them. Read our disclaimer.
AFWFilters vs DuraWater: The 48k 10% Resin Box, Side by Side
| Item | AFWFilters 48k, 10% resin | DuraWater 48k, 10% resin |
|---|---|---|
| Amazon listing | Check price on Amazon | Check price on Amazon |
| Control valve | Fleck 5600SXT digital metered | Fleck 5600SXT digital metered |
| Meter | Not specified beyond "metered" | "Upgraded paddle wheel meter" (DuraWater's 48k pages) |
| Resin | 1.5 cu ft, 10% crosslink | 10% resin, per the Amazon title; volume 1.5 cu ft on DuraWater's 48k pages |
| Mineral tank | 10 x 54 in, Pentair | 10 x 54 in fiberglass (DuraWater's 48k pages) |
| Brine tank | 14 in square with safety float and air check; 18 x 33 or 18 x 40 in round as options | 14 x 14 x 34 in, holds about 250 lb of salt, safety float and overflow |
| Bypass | Plastic 3/4 or 1 in MNPT, or stainless steel 3/4 or 1 in FNPT | 1 in Noryl plastic bypass |
| Connection | Matches the bypass you pick | 1 in male threaded yoke |
| Rated flow | 6.5 gpm service, 9.8 gpm peak; 2.7 gpm backwash | Not stated on DuraWater's site |
| Extras offered | Salt grid; whole-house prefilter | Pentair Scan and Service app access |
| Warranty | 5 years Fleck controls and parts, 10 years tanks | "Backed by a warranty", no terms on site; listing has described 5 years on the valve |
DuraWater's website has no page for the 48k 10% system. It has pages for its 32k and 64k 10% resin systems and for its standard 48k systems. The DuraWater column therefore combines the title of its 10% resin Amazon listing with DuraWater's own 48k pages. Confirm the brine tank, bypass and resin volume with DuraWater for that listing before you order.
How This Comparison Was Built
Method. No unit was physically tested. AFWFilters' specifications and policies come from its store's product pages and FAQ. DuraWater's come from its own product pages and the Amazon listing titles. Valve facts come from Pentair's Fleck 5600SXT downflow service manual. Each Amazon listing was opened to confirm the product page exists and to read its title.
Prices are not listed here because they change often. Use the buttons to see the current price on Amazon.
The Valve Is the Same; Everything Around It Is the Seller's
The Fleck 5600SXT is a Pentair valve. Pentair publishes its manual, its regeneration settings and its operating limits: at least 20 psi to regenerate, no more than 125 psi, and water no hotter than 110°F. Neither seller changes any of that. The parts that wear, the piston, seals and spacers, are the same Pentair parts whichever box the valve came in.
So the comparison is about what each seller bolts on and stands behind. That is the same logic set out in how to compare water softener spec sheets: resin volume, resin grade, valve maker and a stated salt dose tell you more than the grain number on the box.
Capacity at a stated salt dose
Both systems hold 1.5 cubic feet of resin. At an efficient 6 lb of salt per cubic foot, that is about 31,500 grains between regenerations, not 48,000, and 9 lb of salt per cycle. The two are identical on this measure. Why the box figure overstates usable capacity is explained in advertised vs usable softener capacity.
Resin grade
Both listings name 10% crosslink resin. That is the right choice on chlorinated city water, because it resists chlorine damage longer than standard 8% resin. The trade-off is set out in standard vs chlorine-resistant softener resin. On a well with no chlorine, both sellers' standard-resin 48k systems do the same job for a little less.
One caution on AFWFilters' pages. Its standard 48k page says the system has "high capacity 8% crosslink resin". Further down, the same page carries a paragraph saying "inside every unit is upgraded 10% crosslink resin". That paragraph appears on several AFW product pages, including the fine-mesh Iron Pro. If the grade matters to you, ask AFWFilters to confirm it in writing. On the 10% listing compared here, the title and the paragraph agree.
Brine tank and bypass
These are the real hardware differences:
- Brine tank. AFW's default is a 14-inch square tank with a safety float and air check, with 18-inch round tanks as paid options. A larger round tank means fewer bags carried and refills spaced further apart on hard water. DuraWater's 48k pages list a 14 x 14 x 34 inch tank holding about 250 lb of salt, with a safety float and an overflow drain as a backup.
- Bypass. AFW lets you choose 3/4 or 1 inch, in plastic or stainless steel. One buyer's review on AFW's own page notes that the stainless bypass also needed two copper nipples to connect, which AFW did not mention at checkout. DuraWater lists a 1-inch Noryl plastic bypass on a 1-inch male threaded yoke.
What Each Seller Publishes on Its Own Site

This is where the two sellers differ most. A softener bought online is a 10-year ownership decision. Somewhere in those years you will need a setting, a seal kit or a warranty claim.
| AFWFilters | DuraWater | |
|---|---|---|
| Prices on its own site | Yes, with sale and list prices | No |
| Install instructions | Booklet with every product, also posted on product pages | "Installation only takes 1-2 hours", no guide on site |
| Install and programming videos | Yes, via its Instructions page and help site | Not found |
| Replacement parts, resin, media | Sold on its store, including parts for older and discontinued models | No parts catalogue on site |
| Warranty terms in writing | 5 years on Fleck controls and parts, 10 years on tanks (FAQ) | "Backed by a warranty and support", no terms |
| Returns | 120-day money-back if unused and in original packaging | Not stated on site |
| Support | Phone, email and live chat, Mon to Fri, 8 am to 4 pm Central | Phone, Mon to Fri, 9 am to 5 pm Eastern; Saturday by appointment |
| Shipping | Free above a minimum order in the contiguous US; ships in 1 to 2 business days | Not stated on site |
| Where else it sells | Amazon, eBay and Walmart, per its FAQ | Amazon listings under the DuraWater name |
None of this says DuraWater's hardware is worse. The specifications it does publish match AFW's closely. It means that with DuraWater, the warranty terms, return terms and parts supply are things you have to ask for, and get in writing, rather than read before you buy. The Fleck valve itself softens that risk. Its seal kits, pistons and boards are sold by many independent suppliers, so you are not tied to either seller for valve parts.
Both Sites Name Some of the Same Amazon Listings
Each AFWFilters product page has an "Additional Information" tab listing the Amazon listings it applies to. Several DuraWater product pages list Amazon listings too. Set side by side, they overlap.
- Shared listing A is listed on AFWFilters' standard 48k page and on DuraWater's "Pentair Fleck 48,000 grain" page.
- Shared listing B is listed on AFWFilters' standard 48k page and on DuraWater's 48,000-grain Iron Blaster page. One describes standard resin and the other fine mesh.
- A DuraWater Iron Blaster listing carries the DuraWater name in its Amazon title, "DuraWater Fleck 5600 SXT 48K Water Softener/Iron Filter … with Fine Mesh Resin". It is listed on AFWFilters' Iron Pro 48k page.
We could not find a statement from either company explaining this, and we do not assume a corporate relationship. Amazon listings can carry several sellers, and either company may simply be pointing at a listing it also sells on. The practical point is narrower:
- The brand name on a listing does not tell you who ships it. Read the "Ships from" and "Sold by" lines.
- Compare the listing with the seller's own price. AFW's store price is public, so it is the reference point for any listing that AFW sells through.
- Match the resin to the listing, not the brand. The same listing described as standard resin on one site and fine mesh on the other is a reason to ask the seller which resin ships, before you order.
The Iron Versions: Iron Pro 2 48k vs Iron Blaster 48k
For well water with dissolved iron, each seller has a fine-mesh 48k on the same valve.
| AFWFilters Iron Pro 2 48k | DuraWater Iron Blaster 48k | |
|---|---|---|
| Amazon listing | Check price on Amazon | Check price on Amazon |
| Resin | 1.5 cu ft fine mesh | 1.5 cu ft fine mesh, per DuraWater's page |
| Tanks | 10 x 54 in resin tank; 14 x 14 x 36 in brine tank | 10 x 54 in resin tank; 14 x 14 x 34 in brine tank with safety float |
| Stated iron limit | Up to 6 ppm of ferrous iron | Not stated on DuraWater's page |
| Rated flow | 6.5 gpm service, 9.8 gpm peak | Not stated |
| Warranty | 5 years head, 10 years tank | Not stated on site |
AFW states its iron limit; DuraWater's page does not. That matters, because the iron rating, the form of the iron and the regeneration override decide whether either unit works on your well at all. Before choosing either, check that the iron is dissolved rather than already rusted. Then size the bed on compensated hardness, adding about 4 gpg for each ppm of iron and manganese. And remember the DuraWater Iron Blaster listing sits on AFW's Iron Pro page as well, so compare its price with AFW's own store price before ordering.
Comparing Prices on the Day You Buy
Prices are not listed here because they change often. AFWFilters publishes current prices for its 10% resin, standard 8% resin and Iron Pro 48k systems on its own store. DuraWater's website shows no prices, so its Amazon listings are the only place to see one. Check both on the day you buy, and compare like with like: the same resin grade, brine tank and bypass.
Check the Box When It Arrives
Whichever seller you choose, check the delivery against the listing before you cut a pipe. AFW's 120-day return policy requires the items to be unused and in their original packaging, so the check has to happen first.
- Valve label. Confirm it reads Fleck 5600SXT and that a meter cable is fitted.
- Resin. The mineral tank should arrive with resin already loaded. Note any paperwork naming the resin grade, and keep it.
- Brine tank. Match the size to the one you ordered, and confirm the safety float is in the brine well.
- Bypass and connectors. Check the size, 3/4 or 1 inch, and the material against your order. Plan any extra fittings, such as nipples for a stainless bypass, before install day.
- Paperwork. Keep the invoice, the install booklet and the warranty terms together. A warranty claim in year four starts with them.
If anything differs from the listing, contact the seller before installing. Return terms usually end once a system has been plumbed in.
AFWFilters vs DuraWater: Which to Buy
| If you… | Choose |
|---|---|
| Want the price, warranty and return terms in writing before you buy | AFWFilters |
| Want a stainless bypass, a 3/4-inch connection or a larger round brine tank | AFWFilters |
| Want to install it yourself from a booklet and videos | AFWFilters |
| Find the DuraWater listing clearly cheaper on the day, and get its warranty terms in writing | DuraWater |
| Want Pentair's Scan and Service app mentioned in the listing | DuraWater, though the app works with the valve, not the seller |
| Have dissolved iron up to about 5 ppm | AFWFilters Iron Pro 2, which states its limit |
For most buyers, AFWFilters. The hardware is a tie. The written terms are not.
DuraWater makes sense when its listing is meaningfully cheaper and DuraWater confirms, in writing, the warranty on the valve and tanks and how returns work. The Fleck valve's open parts supply means the seller matters less after year five than it does in the first month.
Who Should Buy Neither
- Homes with more than about 10 gpm of real demand. The 5600SXT is a 3/4-inch valve. Large houses with several bathrooms in use at once are better served by a larger valve.
- Wells with rusty water at the tap, iron bacteria or more than about 5 ppm of iron. Put an iron filter first. A fine-mesh softener is not a filter for oxidized iron.
- Anyone who will not program the valve. Both ship with factory settings. Capacity, hardness, reserve and refill time need setting to your water, or the salt dose and capacity will not match.
- Buyers still deciding between salt-based and salt-free. Both of these are salt-based ion-exchange softeners. Start with salt-based vs salt-free water treatment if you have not settled that question.
The valve is the same in both boxes. Choose the seller whose terms you can read before you pay. Then compare the actual listing in front of you, resin line, ships-from line and price, against that seller's own store.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is AFWFilters the same company as DuraWater?
We could not confirm any corporate link, and neither company states one. What we did find is that their own websites name some of the same Amazon listings. AFWFilters' 48k store page names an Amazon listing that a DuraWater product page also names. A DuraWater-branded Iron Blaster listing appears on AFWFilters' Iron Pro 48k page. Check the Ships from and Sold by lines on Amazon before you compare prices.
Which is better, AFWFilters or DuraWater?
The hardware is close to identical: the same Fleck 5600SXT valve, 1.5 cubic feet of resin and a 10 x 54 inch tank at 48,000 grains. AFWFilters is the easier seller to buy from because its own store publishes prices, install booklets and videos, replacement parts, a 120-day money-back policy and warranty terms. DuraWater's website publishes specifications but no prices or warranty details.
What warranty do AFWFilters and DuraWater give?
AFWFilters' FAQ states a 5-year warranty on Fleck controls and parts and 10 years on the brine and mineral tanks. DuraWater's website says its products are backed by a warranty but gives no terms. Its Amazon listings have described a 5-year valve warranty. Ask DuraWater for the tank and valve terms in writing before ordering.
How much does a 48,000 grain AFWFilters softener cost?
The price depends mostly on the resin and the options you pick. When we checked, the standard 8% resin version cost a little less than the 10% crosslink version, and the fine-mesh Iron Pro 48k a little more. A larger round brine tank or a stainless steel bypass adds to the total. AFWFilters publishes its current prices on its own store. DuraWater does not publish prices on its website, so compare its Amazon listing price on the day you buy.
Do AFWFilters and DuraWater use real Fleck valves?
Both sellers name the Pentair Fleck 5600SXT digital metered valve, and DuraWater mentions Pentair's Scan and Service app. The valve itself carries Pentair's design, and Pentair publishes its manual. What each seller chooses is everything around it: resin, tanks, brine tank, bypass and warranty.
