Aquasure vs SpringWell: What Ships in the Box and the True Installed Price

Aquasure vs SpringWell comes down to box price. The SpringWell SS4 costs far more than the Aquasure Harmony 48k at each brand's own store. Both ship a 48,000-grain softener in a 10 x 54 inch tank, and both need the same shutoffs, fittings, air gap and salt before they soften anything. SpringWell also sells the bypass separately, so installed yourself, the gap stays about as wide as it is in the box. The extra money buys SpringWell's longer warranty, a six-month return window and a higher flow rating. It does not buy more resin, a standard valve or a certification. For a careful DIY installer on city water, the Aquasure is the better value.
Disclosure: Hard Water Solved may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It does not change which products we include or how we rank them. Read our disclaimer.
Aquasure vs SpringWell at a Glance
Method. Box contents come from the Aquasure Harmony owner's manual (version 3.4) and SpringWell's salt-based softener product page and SS1/SS4 installation guide. Warranty and return terms are quoted from Aquasure's product warranty page and refund policy, and from SpringWell's warranty page and shipping and returns policy, all read on 2 October 2026. Add-on and labor costs are illustrative estimates. Nothing was physically tested. Prices are not listed here because they change often. Use the buttons to see the current price on Amazon.
| Aquasure Harmony 48k (AS-HS48D) | SpringWell SS4 | |
|---|---|---|
| Rated capacity | 48,000 grains | 48,000 grains |
| Mineral tank | 10 x 54 in | 10 x 54 in (63 in with head) |
| Resin | 1.5 cu ft, listed as prefilled | Not published; tank and rating match about 1.5 cu ft |
| Control valve | Aquasure's own Aquatrol digital metered head | Electronic Bluetooth head; maker not named by SpringWell |
| Programming | Keypad on the valve | Phone app only |
| Service flow | Not stated in the documents we read | 13 gpm (pressure drop not stated) |
| Operating pressure | 25 to 125 psi | 25 to 80 psi |
| Temperature | 32 to 100°F | 36 to 120°F |
| NSF/ANSI 44 listing | None | None shown |
| Warranty | 1 year; 5 years on valve, electronics and resin if registered within 60 days; 10 years on tanks | Lifetime on tanks, valves and heads against defects; 7 years on the electronic head |
| Returns | 30 days, unused | 6 months, unused, 10% restocking |
What Ships in Each Box
This is the comparison neither product page lays out side by side.
| Item | Aquasure Harmony 48k | SpringWell SS4 |
|---|---|---|
| Control valve | Yes, Aquatrol | Yes, electronic head |
| Bypass valve | Included | Sold separately |
| Inlet and outlet connectors | 1-inch male NPT adapter, plastic | MNPT fittings |
| Resin tank, with resin | Yes | Yes, shipped with media inside |
| Brine tank | Yes, with grid plate and brine well | Yes, 18 x 33 inch round |
| Brine line | Yes, 5 ft of 3/8 inch | Not listed |
| Drain line | Yes, 14 ft of 1/2 inch | Yes |
| Power | Transformer, 8 ft cord | Power supply |
| Hose clamp | Not listed | Yes |
| Brine tank safety float | Not mentioned | Not listed |
| Salt | No | No |
| Shutoffs, pipe, fittings | No | No |
| Drain air gap | No | No |
Two lines matter. The bypass: Aquasure includes one; SpringWell adds it to the cart by default, and you should keep it, because without a bypass every service job means shutting off the house. The brine line: SpringWell's list does not mention one. Check the box on delivery before you start, so you are not stopped half way through an install.
Neither list mentions a brine tank safety float. If the brine tank sits anywhere a slow overflow would do damage, ask the seller whether one is fitted, and plumb the overflow elbow to a drain.
What You Still Have to Buy
Both softeners need the same site parts. The costs are illustrative DIY estimates.
| Item | Why | Aquasure | SpringWell |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bypass valve | Isolate the softener for service | Included | Extra, sold by SpringWell |
| Salt at start-up | Aquasure's manual asks for 80 lb; SpringWell's guide says 4 to 5 bags | About $20 | About $40 to $50 |
| Shutoffs, pipe and fittings | Reach the 1-inch connections | About $60 to $150 | About $60 to $150 |
| Drain air gap | Code and both manuals; never a direct connection to a waste pipe | About $15 to $30 | About $15 to $30 |
| Grounding jumper | Plastic valves break continuity on copper or galvanized pipe | About $15 | About $15 |
| Pressure-reducing valve | Only if house pressure exceeds 80 psi | Usually $0 | Usually $0, but SpringWell's limit is 80 psi |
| Carbon prefilter | Chlorine over 2 ppm (Aquasure's limit), or chloramine | Extra; Aquasure sells a prefilter bundle | Extra; SpringWell sells a filter-plus-softener combo in the SS4 size |
The pressure line is easy to miss. SpringWell rates the SS range for 25 to 80 psi. Aquasure's valve takes up to 125 psi, though its manual also asks for a pressure-reducing valve above 80 psi. If your static pressure reads above 80, budget for a regulator either way.
Most DIY failures with either box happen in the same places: the drain connected without an air gap, solder heat too close to a plastic valve, and inlet and outlet reversed. The list of common water softener installation mistakes covers each one, with the symptom it causes.

The True Installed Price
Add the box, the bypass and the site parts, and the price gap barely moves.
| Aquasure Harmony 48k | SpringWell SS4 | |
|---|---|---|
| Box price | Lower | Much higher |
| Bypass | Included | Bought separately |
| Salt, fittings, air gap, ground | $110 to $215 | $130 to $245 |
| Plumber's labor, if hired | $150 to $1,000 | $150 to $1,000 |
Labor is the national range from Fixr, as used in the site's water softener installation cost breakdown. A house that needs a new loop, drain run or outlet adds the same amount to either softener.
The labor and parts cost the same whichever box is on the floor, so the gap is almost all box price, whether you install it yourself or not. As a share of the total, though, it shrinks when a plumber is involved, because the labor adds the same to both.
Capacity: Both Are Sold, and Programmed, on the Box Number
The tanks are the same size and the grain ratings are the same. Neither brand publishes capacity at a stated salt dose. Using standard per-cubic-foot design figures for about 1.5 cubic feet of resin, both deliver roughly:
| Salt dose | Capacity |
|---|---|
| 6 lb per cu ft | about 31,500 grains |
| 9 lb per cu ft | about 39,000 grains |
| 15 lb per cu ft | about 46,500 grains |
Standard resin in good condition. The method is in advertised vs usable softener capacity.
Both setup guides use the 48,000-grain box rating. Aquasure's manual has you divide capacity by hardness and subtract 75 gallons per person. SpringWell's guide has you enter "48" with a 10% reserve. Either way, if the brine fill delivers a moderate dose, the valve waits too long and the house gets hard water at the end of each cycle. On either softener, program from about 39,000 grains, then test the water on the morning before a regeneration and adjust.
Neither publishes the refill flow rate, so neither manual tells you the salt dose in pounds. Each gallon of refill dissolves roughly 3 lb of salt. Measure the brine tank's water rise after a regeneration to find yours.
The Valve and the Support Line
Neither softener uses a Fleck or Clack valve, the two families most plumbers and suppliers stock.
- Aquasure's Aquatrol is Aquasure's own design. Parts come from Aquasure, and it programs from the keypad. Aquasure advertises free US-based technical support for registered products.
- SpringWell's head is an app-programmed Bluetooth valve. SpringWell does not name its maker; a dealer review identifies it as a Chandler Systems Connected Series valve. Bypass and parts come from SpringWell, and there is no keypad programming in the guide.
So with either, the brand's support line is part of the product. SpringWell's higher price buys phone support and a longer warranty behind that line. Aquasure's buys you the same dependence on one supplier for much less.
Warranty and Returns, Quoted
| Term | Aquasure (warranty page, 2 Oct 2026) | SpringWell (warranty page, 2 Oct 2026) |
|---|---|---|
| Base cover | "One-year limited warranty" on electronics, valves and resin | Covered items free of defects "throughout the lifespan of the system" |
| Extended cover | "Five years from the date of purchase if the purchased product is registered within 60 days" | Not needed; registration still required |
| Electronics | Inside the 1- or 5-year term | "Electronic heads: 7-year limited warranty"; the product page's warranty tab has said 5 |
| Tanks | "Ten Year Warranty on Resin Tank and Brine Tank" | Lifetime on tanks under 14 inches, which covers the SS4's 10-inch tank |
| Resin | Covered in the term, except as below | Not named among the lifetime covered items |
| Main exclusion | Resin and internal valve parts "will not be covered for systems used to remove iron, manganese, or chlorine above the suggested level" | Installation on water "beyond the recommended specification" voids the warranty |
| Who | "Original retail purchaser" | Registered owner, in the home where it was first installed |
| Labor and freight | Not included | Plumber fees not included; liability capped at the product's cost |
| Returns | 30 days from receipt, unused, original packaging | 6 months, unused and uninstalled, 10% restocking, buyer pays return shipping |
SpringWell's terms are longer on paper. Two cautions apply. The 7-year versus 5-year electronics discrepancy has appeared before, so ask SpringWell which applies and keep the answer. And the six-month window covers uninstalled units only. Once it is plumbed in, SpringWell's "Performance Promise" offers troubleshooting and parts, and refunds only systems it finds defective.
Aquasure's main trap is the 60-day registration. Miss it and the five years becomes one. Its iron and chlorine exclusion also means a Harmony used on an iron well, or on high-chlorine city water without a prefilter, has no resin or valve-internals cover.
Amazon Availability
| Listing | Status | Where to buy instead | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|
| Aquasure Harmony 48k | Live listing on 1 October 2026 | Aquasure's store | Check price on Amazon |
| SpringWell salt-based softener | Showed "Currently unavailable" on 1 October 2026; our 2 October check could not load the page | SpringWell's store, which sells the SS1, SS4 and SS+ | Check price on Amazon |
An older Harmony 48k listing is unavailable; use the one linked above. If you buy either through Amazon, register directly with the brand anyway, because both warranties depend on registration.
Which One to Buy
Buy the Aquasure Harmony 48k if you will install it yourself, you are on city water with chlorine under 2 ppm (or will add the prefilter), and you will register it within 60 days. It is the lower-cost complete two-tank kit here, and the money saved pays for a plumber's afternoon if you get stuck.
Buy the SpringWell SS4 if you value a lifetime defects warranty on the tank, valve and head, want a 13 gpm flow rating for a larger house, and are happy to program from a phone app. Confirm the resin grade and the electronics term in writing before you order.
Spend the difference on water treatment instead if you are on a well with iron or manganese. Both warranties exclude what that water does to the resin. An iron filter ahead of the cheaper softener protects it better than a longer warranty that excludes the damage.
Who Should Buy Neither
- Anyone who wants a valve any local technician can service. Look at softeners on a Fleck or Clack valve.
- Buyers who need certified performance. Neither salt-based softener shows an NSF/ANSI 44 listing.
- Homes that do not need ion exchange. If your goal is scale reduction on moderate hardness, or you cannot run a drain line, salt-based vs salt-free water treatment compares the honest alternatives.
- Anyone who will not adjust the default programming. Both guides start from the box rating; an installer who sets it up for you is worth paying for.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is SpringWell better than Aquasure?
SpringWell offers more after the sale: a lifetime warranty on tanks, valves and heads against defects, 7 years on the electronic head on its warranty page, a 6-month return window on unused units and a higher stated service flow. Aquasure's Harmony 48k softens the same 1.5 cubic feet or so of resin in the same 10 x 54 inch tank for much less in the box. For a confident DIY installer on city water, Aquasure is the better value; SpringWell is for buyers who will pay for longer cover and support.
What comes in the Aquasure Harmony box?
The owner's manual lists the Aquatrol metered control valve, bypass valve, 1-inch connection adapter, a 10 x 54 inch resin tank with resin, a brine tank with grid plate and brine well, 5 feet of brine line, 14 feet of drain line and a power transformer. Salt, shutoff valves, pipe and fittings, and a drain air gap are not included.
What comes in the SpringWell salt-based softener box?
SpringWell's product page lists the softener tank shipped with media inside, the brine tank, a drain line, MNPT fittings, the electronic head, a power supply and a hose clamp. The bypass valve is a separate item. Salt, shutoffs, pipe and an air gap are not included.
How much does it cost to install an Aquasure or SpringWell softener?
Installed yourself into an existing loop, our estimate is the box price plus about $110 to $215 in salt, fittings, air gap and grounding for the Aquasure Harmony 48k, and about $130 to $245 plus the separately sold bypass for the SpringWell SS4. A plumber adds labor within Fixr's $150 to $1,000 national range to either. New loops, drains or outlets add the same to either.
Are Aquasure and SpringWell softeners NSF certified?
Neither salt-based softener shows an NSF/ANSI 44 listing. NSF's public listings show Aquasure certified only for reverse-osmosis membrane components, and SpringWell's product page shows no NSF/ANSI 44 or WQA Gold Seal listing for its SS range. Program either from a realistic capacity rather than the box rating.
Can I return an Aquasure or SpringWell softener?
Aquasure's refund policy gives 30 days from receipt to request a return, for items unused and in original packaging. SpringWell accepts returns within six months for products in original, unused, uninstalled condition, with a 10% restocking fee and return shipping at the buyer's cost. Installed SpringWell systems are refunded only if SpringWell finds them defective.
