Aquasure Harmony Review: What's in the Box and What It Really Costs Installed

This Aquasure Harmony review comes down to what the box price covers and what it does not. For a budget price, the 48,000-grain model buys a complete two-tank system, with valve, resin tank, resin, brine tank, bypass, drain line and brine line. It does not buy the shutoffs and fittings that connect it, the air gap the drain needs, or the salt to start it. It is a sound budget softener for a homeowner who will install and program it carefully. It is a poor one for anyone who needs a plumber, a certified product or iron removal under warranty.
Disclosure: Hard Water Solved may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It does not change which products we include or how we rank them. Read our disclaimer.
Aquasure Harmony Review at a Glance
| Model | Resin | Tank | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|
| Harmony 32,000 (AS-HS32D) | 1.0 cu ft | 8 x 44 in | Check price on Amazon |
| Harmony 48,000 (AS-HS48D) | 1.5 cu ft | 10 x 54 in | Check price on Amazon |
| Harmony 64,000 (AS-HS64D) | 2.0 cu ft | 13 x 54 in | Check price on Amazon |
| Harmony 72,000 (AS-HS72D) | Not stated | Not stated | Check price on Amazon |
| Harmony 48,000 fine mesh + sediment prefilter | 1.5 cu ft | 10 x 54 in | Check price on Amazon |
Four real limits: a proprietary valve, no NSF/ANSI 44 softener listing, a warranty that depends on registering within 60 days, and a grain rating you should not program from directly.
How this review was built. It is a document review, not a bench test. The evidence is the Harmony Series owner's manual, Aquasure's current warranty page, the Amazon listings, and NSF's public certification listings. The comparison system is the DuraWater 48,000-grain Fleck 5600SXT, as described on its Amazon listing. Several older Harmony listings now redirect or show as unavailable; the ones above were live listings on 1 October 2026. Prices are not listed here because they change often. Use the buttons to see the current price on Amazon.
The Box-Contents Audit
The Harmony owner's manual lists every component that ships with the system. Here it is beside the contents of a mid-priced competitor, the DuraWater 48,000-grain Fleck 5600SXT system.
| Item | Aquasure Harmony 48k | DuraWater Fleck 5600SXT 48k |
|---|---|---|
| Metered control valve | Yes, Aquasure's own Aquatrol | Yes, Fleck 5600SXT |
| Bypass valve | Yes | Yes, plastic |
| 1-inch connection adapter | Yes, plastic, 1 in male NPT | Yes, 1 in yoke |
| Resin tank | Yes, 10 x 54 in | Yes, size not stated |
| Resin | Yes, 1.5 cu ft, listed as prefilled | Yes, 1.5 cu ft, preloaded |
| Brine tank | Yes, with grid plate and brine well | Yes, 14 x 36 in with safety float |
| Brine line | Yes, 5 ft of 3/8 in | Not stated |
| Drain line | Yes, 14 ft of 1/2 in | Not stated |
| Power transformer | Yes | Not stated |
| Salt | No | No |
| Shutoff valves, pipe, fittings | No | No |
| Drain air gap | No | No |
On paper the Aquasure box is the more complete kit. It is the only one of the two that lists the brine line, the drain line and the transformer. The Fleck system's listing is the only one that names a brine tank safety float, a part the Harmony manual does not mention. Ask Aquasure whether one is fitted before you put the brine tank anywhere a slow overflow would do damage.
What You Still Have to Buy at Install
The manual's own checklist names most of these. The costs are illustrative estimates for a DIY job, not quotes.
| What | Why | Illustrative cost |
|---|---|---|
| Salt, at least two 40 lb bags | The manual asks for 80 lb and 5 gallons of water at start-up | About $20 |
| Shutoff valves, pipe and fittings | To reach the 1-inch connections. Aquasure recommends 1-inch pipe to keep full flow | About $60 to $150 |
| Drain air gap | The manual wants at least 1.5 inches of air gap, never a direct connection to a waste pipe | About $15 to $30 |
| Grounding jumper | Required on copper or galvanized pipe, because the plastic valve breaks electrical continuity | About $15 |
| Pressure-reducing valve | Only if daytime pressure exceeds 80 psi; the valve's limit is 125 psi | $0, or more if needed |
| Carbon prefilter | If chlorine exceeds 2 ppm, or the supply uses chloramine | Extra; Aquasure sells a bundle with a triple-purpose filter |
| 120 V outlet within 6 ft | The transformer has an 8 ft cord | $0 if one exists |
The carbon line is the one buyers skip. The manual sets a 2 ppm chlorine limit and warns that chlorine and chloramine shorten resin life. Aquasure's own store sells the 48k with a triple-purpose prefilter for a little more than the plain unit. On city water that uses chloramine, that is the version to buy.
Two of the most expensive DIY errors happen here: soldering too close to the plastic valve, and connecting the drain without an air gap. The manual asks for at least 6 inches between any solder joint and the valve. Our list of common water softener installation mistakes covers both, along with the reversed inlet and outlet that catches people on every brand.
The True Installed Price
Add the extras to the box price and the Harmony's advantage over a mid-priced competitor narrows.
- Installed yourself, loop in place: the box price plus about $110 to $215 in salt, fittings, air gap and grounding jumper.
- Hired, loop in place: the same, plus labor. The labor range of $150 to $1,000 comes from Fixr's national figures, as set out in our water softener installation cost breakdown.
- Hired, with a new loop, drain run and outlet: the site work can cost more than the softener itself.
- The Fleck 5600SXT competitor: needs the same extras, added to a higher box price.
Installed yourself, the Harmony usually costs less than the Fleck system, because the extras are the same for both. If you pay a plumber, the plumbing costs the same whichever box sits on the floor, and the saving shrinks to a small share of the total. The Harmony is cheapest for the buyer who installs it.
Capacity at Real Salt Settings
Aquasure sells the Harmony by grain rating. The manual programs it from that rating too, through a simple formula: capacity in grains ÷ hardness in gpg − 75 gallons per person = gallons between regenerations.
The catch is the capacity figure. The manual's table calls 48,000 grains the "medium salt curve" capacity for the 1.5 cubic foot unit, with an 8-minute brine fill. Industry design tables give standard resin about 21,000 grains per cubic foot at a 6 lb salt dose, 26,000 at 9 lb and 31,000 at a heavy 15 lb dose. Even at that maximum, 1.5 cubic feet delivers about 46,500 grains, not 48,000.
| Model | Resin | Box rating | At 6 lb/cu ft | At 9 lb/cu ft | At 15 lb/cu ft |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Harmony 32k | 1.0 cu ft | 32,000 | ~21,000 | ~26,000 | ~31,000 |
| Harmony 48k | 1.5 cu ft | 48,000 | ~31,500 | ~39,000 | ~46,500 |
| Harmony 64k | 2.0 cu ft | 64,000 | ~42,000 | ~52,000 | ~62,000 |
Standard resin in good condition; figures from published per-cubic-foot design guidance, scaled to Aquasure's stated resin volumes. The full table is in our guide to advertised vs usable softener capacity.
Worked example. Four people, 15 gpg water, 48k model:
- From the box rating: 48,000 ÷ 15 − 300 = 2,900 gallons
- From a realistic 39,000 grains: 39,000 ÷ 15 − 300 = 2,300 gallons
Program 2,900 and the house runs out of soft water in the last day or two of every cycle. Program 2,300 and it does not.
The manual gives the brine fill in minutes, not pounds, and does not state the refill flow rate, so you cannot read the salt dose off the documents. You can measure it. After a regeneration, check how much the water level in the brine tank rose during the fill. Each gallon of refill water dissolves roughly 3 lb of salt. If your 8-minute fill puts in about 4 gallons, the dose is around 12 lb, or 8 lb per cubic foot, and the realistic capacity sits near the 9 lb column.
The Aquatrol Valve: What You Give Up
The Harmony's control head is Aquasure's own Aquatrol design, not a Fleck or Clack valve. That has three consequences:
- Parts come from Aquasure. Pistons, seals, boards and injectors for a Fleck or Clack valve are sold by many independent suppliers. Aquatrol parts are not.
- Local service is harder. A plumber or water-treatment dealer who knows Fleck and Clack valves may not know the Aquatrol menus.
- The operating envelope is narrower than some. The manual sets 25 to 125 psi, 32°F to 100°F, and a maximum of 2 ppm chlorine. Hot water must never pass through it.
None of this makes it a bad valve. It makes Aquasure's support line part of the product. Aquasure advertises free US-based technical support for registered products, which is worth using during setup.
The Warranty: Resolving the 1-, 2- and 5-Year Claims
Three Aquasure sources disagree:
- The Amazon listing promises a "5-year extended manufacturer warranty" if you activate the product online within 60 days.
- The owner's manual (version 3.4, June 2019) says five years with registration and two years without.
- Aquasure's current product warranty page says one year without registration, or five years from purchase on the valve, electronics and resin if you register within 60 days. The resin tank and brine tank carry a separate ten-year provision.
The current page is the one that governs a purchase today. In practice the rule is simple: register within 60 days, and you get five years on the parts that fail.
Read the exclusions as carefully as the term. Labor and freight are not covered. Transfer to a new owner needs Aquasure's written approval and a fee. And resin and internal valve parts are not covered on systems used to remove iron, manganese, or chlorine above the suggested level. That clause sits awkwardly beside the fine-mesh models, which Aquasure markets for iron reduction. If you buy a fine-mesh Harmony for iron, assume the resin is not under warranty. Our guide to reading a water softener warranty explains how to check a clause like this before you buy.
Certification
The Harmony product page makes no NSF or WQA certification claim. NSF's public listings, current as of 30 September 2026, show Aquasure Corporation certified only for reverse-osmosis membrane components under NSF/ANSI 58, with no Harmony softener under NSF/ANSI 44, the softener standard. You can check the NSF listing for Aquasure yourself.
That does not mean the softener does not work. It means its capacity and efficiency claims have not been independently verified, which is another reason to program from the realistic capacity rather than the box number. Our guide on how to verify a softener certification shows what a full listing looks like.
Sizing: Ignore the Bathroom Counts
Aquasure's own sizing labels are inconsistent. Its store describes the 48k as suiting "4-5 bathrooms, up to 5-6 people". The Amazon listing for the same model says it is "perfectly designed for 3-4 bathrooms". Bathrooms do not use hardness; people and water do.
Size from your hardness and household instead. Multiply people by 75 gallons by your hardness in gpg to get grains per day, then pick the model whose realistic capacity covers about a week. For a family of four on 15 gpg water, that is 4,500 grains a day, which a 48k at a moderate salt dose covers comfortably. The full method is in how to size a water softener.
Which Aquasure Harmony to Buy
Most homes on city water: the Harmony 48,000. Add the triple-purpose prefilter version if your water utility uses chloramine.
One or two people, moderate hardness: the Harmony 32,000, the lowest-cost model. Its 8 x 44 inch tank also suits tighter spaces.
Large households or very hard water: the Harmony 64,000, with 2 cubic feet of resin.
Some iron, on a well: the Harmony 48,000 fine mesh with sediment prefilter, but read the iron exclusion above first.
Who the Aquasure Harmony Is Wrong For
- Buyers who need it professionally installed. Once a plumber is involved, the saving over a better-supported valve is small.
- Anyone who wants certified performance. There is no NSF/ANSI 44 softener listing.
- Wells with real iron or manganese. The warranty excludes the parts that iron damages. Treat iron first, with the approach in our guide to an iron filter before the softener.
- Owners who want local, multi-brand parts supply. The Aquatrol valve is serviced through Aquasure.
- Homes with chloramine and no budget for carbon. The resin will not last.
For a confident DIY installer on city water, who registers it on day one and programs it from a realistic capacity, the Aquasure Harmony is a fair deal. If you have not yet settled whether salt-based softening is the right fix at all, read salt-based vs salt-free water treatment first.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is the Aquasure Harmony a good water softener?
It is a sound budget choice for a homeowner who can install and program it. The box includes the valve, resin tank, resin, brine tank, bypass, drain line and brine line, at a budget price. Its limits are a proprietary valve that only Aquasure supplies parts for, no NSF/ANSI 44 softener listing, a warranty that needs registration within 60 days, and a box rating you should not program from directly.
What is the warranty on the Aquasure Harmony?
Aquasure's current warranty page gives one year without registration, or five years from purchase on the valve, electronics and resin if you register within 60 days. The resin tank and brine tank carry a separate ten-year provision. Labor and freight are not covered, and resin and internal valve parts are excluded on systems used to remove iron, manganese or chlorine above the suggested level. An older manual said two years without registration, so register and keep a copy of the terms on the day you buy.
Does the Aquasure Harmony come with resin?
Yes. The owner's manual lists resin media and the resin tank among the system components, and the Amazon listing describes the tank as prefilled with resin. The 32,000, 48,000 and 64,000-grain models hold 1, 1.5 and 2 cubic feet of resin, according to Aquasure's replacement-tank listings.
How many gallons should I program on an Aquasure Harmony?
The manual's formula is capacity divided by hardness, minus 75 gallons per person. Use a realistic capacity rather than the box number. For a 48,000-grain unit, about 39,000 grains is a fair planning figure at a moderate salt dose. With 15 gpg water and four people that gives 2,600 minus 300, or 2,300 gallons, instead of the 2,900 gallons the box rating would give.
Can I install an Aquasure Harmony myself?
Most handy homeowners can, if a cold-water loop already exists or they are comfortable cutting into the main. You will still need shutoff valves, pipe and fittings to reach the 1-inch connections, a drain air gap, salt, and a grounding jumper on copper plumbing. If you need a new loop, drain run or outlet, a plumber's bill can exceed the price of the softener.
Is the Aquasure Harmony fine-mesh model good for iron?
Fine-mesh resin handles some dissolved iron better than standard resin, and Aquasure sells fine-mesh versions for that purpose. But Aquasure's warranty excludes the resin and internal valve parts on systems used to remove iron or manganese. If iron is the main problem, an iron filter ahead of the softener is the safer plan.
